Module 1: Basic Blogging

When I started teaching, 18 years ago, the word technology meant an overhead projector. My technology struggles included printing my lesson materials on the right type of transparency film, keeping the bottom of the transparency covered until I was ready to show it, the projector bulb blowing out during class, or my Vis-a-Vis pen running out of ink. My how times have changed! Now, my board has a built-in computer, so there’s no need for a projector at all, and every one of my students has their own Chromebook. These changes though do not mean I am without technology-related struggles.

Students are extremely adept to technology. Because technology is literally at their fingertips at all times, students feel they are digital natives and do not require instruction or assistance. The use of technology comes naturally to them, and they’re not afraid to click and see what happens. They navigate new tools/sites quickly and without hesitation. Unfortunately, students miss the meaning behind symbols that indicate available tools, do not read thoroughly and misunderstand or overlook important information or functions, and more, because they feel so comfortable using technology. Sometimes though, an open mind and open eyes are necessary to learn how to use the tool, database, or site I’m utilizing for the lesson, but it can feel like trying to teach an expert swimmer a new breathing technique!

What more could I possibly learn about technology?

As the librarian in my school, I teach every single student in the building and I collaborate with every single teacher in the building. It is imperative that I keep my knowledge up to date on the best uses of technology to differentiate instruction in every way possible. Students need to access content in a variety of formats, and I have the best knowledge in the building on books, databases, and websites to provide that content. But what to do with it after they have it? That’s where technology comes in handy! Whether they’re working in a small group and taking notes on Google Slides, working independently to watch and listen to a video while sketchnoting, or working in a teacher-led group that then responds to the lesson in Flipgrid, students need to process the information in whatever way feels most comfortable. And finally, turning that new knowledge into their own knowledge allows for a huge variety of uses for technology. Being the librarian means I need to know how to reach and teach each student.

Where does a blog come in to education?

The library is the heart of a school, and sharing out the amazing things happening in our library every day should be shared. A blog would be an awesome way to share with the school community the goings-on in our library. It could be a one-stop-shop for new book arrivals, book trailers, how-to videos, links to important school-related information, and more. I love the idea of having a page for each grade level that shows what went on during their visits to the library, giving parents a glimpse of their student at school. Posting images of students would also encourage them to keep tabs on the library’s blog, which could then become the place to go for important class-related information (i.e. how to cite sources, where to find “free” images, how to paraphrase/summarize when researching, etc.). The possibilities of a library blog are endless!

Student working on a computer in a library.

Technology is here to stay, and students love technology! As an educator, it is best for me to determine how to utilize technology to help my students learn and grow as they become 21st century adults.